It’s that time of the year when winter mornings turn into summer afternoons. I teach early in the morning, which means I have to bundle up, but by the time I emerge from office hours, the sun is up, the weather warm, and my cap-ped and coat-ed self out of place amid a throng of undergrads in short shorts and flip-flops. Because I am a tropical girl, I feel disappointment each time I wake up to a wintry morning; clearly, my sunny days are numbered. And so, in anticipation of months of hibernation, I’ve been spending afternoons outdoors, doing my reading and working out in the sun.

Where I usually sit, in the garden of the public library.

Where I usually sit, in the garden of the public library.


Where I sit when my usual spot is taken.

Where I sit when my usual spot is taken.


Mid-afternoon Nighthawks, spotted in the Flatiron Building. Was in the city to apply for a visa at the Chinese Consulate, where I saw a funny sign that I couldn't take a picture of kasi bawal: "Turn your cell phone off, or you'll get asked out." Ganun na pala maghanap ng date sa city ngayon!

Mid-afternoon Nighthawks, spotted in the Flatiron Building. Was in the city to apply for a visa at the Chinese Consulate, where I saw a funny sign that I couldn’t take a picture of kasi bawal: “Turn your cell phone off, or you’ll get asked out.” Ganun na pala maghanap ng date sa city ngayon!


Meanwhile, these guys just want in. Masyado raw mainit sa labas!

Meanwhile, these guys just want in. Masyado raw mainit sa labas!