I was out this weekend and bent on finally getting myself a desk–the theory being, if I get out of bed to work rather than bring work to bed, then I just might 1) get more work done and 2) spend less time a) napping, b) daydreaming, c) sleeping, d) worrying about Life, e) watching my secret favorite shows over and over again, and f) reading amazing things that have absolutely nothing to do with work–but instead, I came home with this and this and the exhibition catalogue to this, proving yet again that I can so easily forget 1) my promise to myself to buy only the books in my Amazon wish list (the idea being, I should channel my limited book budget toward books I already know I need/want prior to visiting the bookstore rather than books I realize I need/want once I see them in the bookstore, this arrangement meant to prevent me from picking up books I might not need/want as much once the initial thrill of finding/smelling/holding/perusing them is over, although the preventive measure seems unnecessary given my undiminished need/want for most, if not all, books brought home) and 2) my urgent need to have a desk, despite a) my incredible lack of focus and consequently, my rapidly developing difficulty with beating deadlines, the result of working in bed, b) my bodily aches and pains, mostly involving my back, arms, and neck, the result of working in bed, and c) the eyesore that is the always unmade, disheveled, densely populated (by books and papers and a fluffy feline who, among other things, sheds fur like there’s no tomorrow) bed, the result of working in bed–a forgetfulness I easily rationalize, given the capacity of these recent acquisitions to 1) address my secret plans for what I hope to be the next book (the plans so secret they are still unknown to me), as well as 2) their direct and indirect connections to my delirious fondness for alphabets and maps and diagrams, all these made even better by the discovery that if one is polite and enthusiastic enough when conversing with the manager of a bookstore, one can actually get 1) 20% off on multiple art books purchases and 2) 50% off on a book that looks a little less than brand new and is the last copy of its kind in the bookstore–information bound to come in handy when the next book binge comes around.