1.
For a long time, I went to bed early.

2.
For a long time, I kept records of weather forecasts and went to bed early.

3.
For a long time, I kept what I needed most–a few records, flyers of pizza places, weather forecasts for random distant months–and went to bed early.

4.
For a long time, I kept what I needed most–a few records, flyers of pizza places, the weather-beaten couch where I made up forecasts for random distant months and went to bed early.

5.
For a long time, I kept what I needed most to throw out–a few of your records, flyers of pizza places, the weather-beaten couch where you and I made up forecasts for random distant months and went to bed, never early.

6.
It wasn’t as if, for a long time, I kept what I needed most to throw out–a few of your records, flyers of pizza places, the weather-beaten couch where you and I made up forecasts for random distant months and went to bed, never early.

7.
It wasn’t as if, for a long time, I kept what I needed most to throw out–a few of your records, flyers of pizza places, the weather-beaten couch where you and I made up forecasts for random distant months–to begin with, there was never a you and I, we never went to bed, as it was never too early to tell where we were headed.