geek11

Final cover of Carljoe Javier’s And the Geek Shall Inherit the Earth, for which I did the introduction. Out in May 2009.

I’m still attached to the original cover, but this one’s growing on me. Milflores covers can be, well, disappointing, so it’s quite a relief to see this one–appropriately cute and playful, all in all, likable. At first I found it too busy, but then again, that’s clearly the point. There’s a juvenile-book-report feel to it, what with the visual rundown of Carl’s preoccupations, and then there’s the schizophrenic typography–things I normally instinctively don’t like to see on covers, but this one pulls it off, and quite well; it manages to hold itself together and cohere despite all the action. I’m also happy to see Adam Savage and Jamie Hyneman on the cover, just because.